Skip to content

Zebra Poetry Film Festival 2016

ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival Münster | Berlin

I was delighted to attend the biennial ZEBRA Festival 2016 – this year it took place in Münster, Germany, at a beautiful Art Deco cinema with all the original interior features. The press release is below including a list of the winning poetry films.


The ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival Münster | Berlin took  place in October 2016. 80 films were nominated from the 1,100 entries from 86 countries and shown in the international and German-language competition. There was also a North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) competition featuring a further 18 films. More than 220 poetry films were featured in the competitions and programmes of the festival, which ran from 27 to 30 October in the Schloßtheater Cinema in Münster.

The award winners were picked by the festival jury. On this year’s jury were filmmaker and festival organiser Juliane Fuchs, Belgian video and sound artist Marc Neys and poet Sabine Scho. The prizes were worth a total of € 12,000. The winning films are listed below. Congratulations!

The ZEBRA Prize for the Best Poetry Film in the international competition, donated by the Haus für Poesie:

Off the Trail (GB 2015)

Director: Nick Jordan

Poem: “Endless streams and mountains” by Gary Snyder


The “Goethe Film Prize” was donated by the Goethe Institute. It goes in equal parts to:


Goldfish (D 2016)

Director: Rain Kencana

Poem: “Golden Fish“, by Shuntaro Tanikawa


Process:Breath (N 2016)

Director: Line Klungseth Johansen

Poem: “Process:Breath“ by Line Klungseth Johansen


Special mention: PLEASE LISTEN! (RU 2014) by Natalia Alfutova (poem: “Please Listen“ by Vladimir Mayakovsky)


The “Prize for the Best Film for Tolerance” was donated by the German Foreign Ministry (Auswärtiges Amt). It goes in equal parts to:


Steel and Air (USA 2016)

Director: Chris & Nick Libbey

Poem: “Steel and Air“ by John Ashbery


Hail the Bodhisattva of Collected Junk (TWN 2015)

Director: Ye Mimi

Poem: “Hail the Bodhisattva of Collected Junk“ by Ye Mimi


Special mention: Calling All (P 2015) by Manuel Vilarinho (poem: “Chamada Geral” by Mário Henrique Leiria)


The “Ritter Sport Prize” in the German language competition, donated by Alfred Ritter GmbH und Co KG:


The wolf fearing the wolf (D 2014)

Director: Juliane Jaschnow

Poem: “Die Angst des Wolfs vor dem Wolf“ by Stefan Petermann


Special mention: Vacancy (D 2016) by Urte Zintler (poem: „Leerstelle“ by Hilde Domin).


The audience prize in the NRW competition, donated by Deutsche Lufthansa AG:


Birds on wires (D 2014)

Director: Dean Ruddock

Poem: „Vögel auf Stromleitungen“ by Dean Ruddock


The ZEBRINO Prize for the Poetry Film for Children and Young People went to:


Autumn (F 2016)

Director: Hugo de Faucompret

Poem: „Automne“ by Guillaume Apollinaire

The award winning film was chosen by the young audience. The prize is worth € 500.

The winning films were shown in Berlin at the ZEBRA Poetry Film Gala on 16 November 2016 as part of the interfilm – International Short Film Festival Berlin.

The festival was organised and hosted by the Filmwerkstatt Münster in co-operation with the Haus für Poesie. It was made possible by the support from the Kunststiftung NRW, the LWL Kulturstiftung, the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the City of Münster, the Stiftung der Sparkasse Münsterland Ost, the Kulturrucksack NRW, and from the Consulate General of the Netherlands and the Flemish Representation. The festival is also supported by the Münstersche Filmtheater-Betriebe, by GUCC grafik & film, by the Factory Hotel, by interfilm – International Short Film Festival and by the filmclub münster.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s